Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

A HOME Fórumosok első benyomásai a Where's The Revolution-ról - második rész

2017. február 07. - Szigi.
My two cents:

What a missed chance! Somewhere deep inside there's a great song hidden in this disjointed, repetitive cut-up mess. Is Martin so afraid of "going too Pop" that he deliberately ruins his best attempts? The song is going nowhere, when it should lift off to become epic it just breaks down to make way for the snooze part again. Also given the theme of the lyrics, the song should be catchier, more anthemic, more straightforward. The slow parts kill it. Good album track, not even remotely a worthy lead single, less so than Heaven even! After 10-12 listens in a row I'm still not impressed, quite the contrary! The most fun part was the hype up to the release... Meh! �
---
I Like it, i'm loving the cleaner sound, enjoying the lirycs, and having a real pleasure with the Middle 8!...
---
Have only listened to it once, and it's a bit of an anti-first single. 5 minutes long, not very direct, choppy and heavily produced rather than pop-y or catchy. I like the soundscape (those who were tired of the blues guitars really got their way here), but the song as a whole never really takes off. Interested to hear more, though. 
---
Nah, just nah... I think I liked every lead single from post Alan albums more than this. BOAG, Dream on, APTIUT, Wrong, Heaven. All better than this.

Music builds in the chorus - and that's the best part of all - but doesn't go anywhere. And is not aggressive enough as one would expect after "the train is coming". Lyrics meh, typical preach talk of shouldas and couldas and sofa fighters. Where's the revolution? I certainly can't see Mart, Dave and esp. not Andy in the front rows of anything. I don't blame them though, but this song is as desperate as it gets. Also Dave siiiiIIIIngiiiIIIII IIng veeEEeeerseEEEEees. Oh well.
---
Anyway, as for "Where's the revolution". I loved the chorus from hearing the clip from the press conference. I really wish I could have listened to the whole song instead of the hearing the chorus first - my reaction right now would be a lot more ecstatic right now! I think it's one of the strongest, most violator-esque DM choruses we've heard in a while. I personally love the song and love the verses. I also love the music and the cleaner production. It feels like a proper DM song to me. It may not be a huge stylistic leap from Delta/SOTU and may rely on tried and true sounds BUT it works, and I'm not going to nit pick.

My only gripe at the moment is what everyone has mentioned about the similarities with "Corrupt". I hate it when I hear two songs at the same time in my head and that is exactly what is happening right now. A similar thing happened with PSB's Integral (sounding like Midnight Oil's Beds Are Burning). However, with multiple listens I'm in effect going to push "corrupt" out my brain and allow revolution to take over (if this makes sense)....it's the better of the two songs, and therefore worth it!

As for the "train" section, personally I like it and don't feel any disconnect. DM have always been good at making something repetitive sound just fine....take "Wrong"/"NLMDA"/"can't understand what makes a man..." in PAP as examples....

Overall no complaints at all, I think this bodes well for the rest of the album. Like "Wrong" it feels very Depeche, and not in a cliched way at all. I'm getting the same vibes as "Wrong" and "The Sinner in Me" from this song, two songs which to me are also very pure-Depeche. :D

I just wish there'd been a little heads up on these release dates! I like the wait hehe.
---
Great lyrics btw, so fitting in this time. Must say that I'm really glad they're getting political again.
---
The drums on the  'the train is coming ' part = the drums on Sweetest Perfection.
---
I've had about 5 listens now, it's definitely a grower... a bit challenging, though probably not as much as Heaven was on Day 1. My first thought in the initial 30 seconds was "this is definitely not a hit", not that we expected them to deliver that at this stage in their career.

The simplicity of the first verse and the repeated lines in the chorus  ("Where's the revolution, come on people you're letting me down" x2) made me think it might be a Dave composition, but the more the song advanced, it seems to be a Martin lyric. If it's a Dave composition, it's up there with his best.

One of my other first thoughts was that this song sounds like a functional piece of a whole. By itself it seems almost out-of-context.

I liked the lyrics being topical, but not completely evident which side of the fence the writer was on. It could be interpreted even as meant for Trump voters (though I know it's not) feeling they were ignored by the mainstream, with all the talk of "you've been pissed on for too long", etc.

The seeming hesitation of the music and random snares during the "Where's" in the 2nd repeating chorus line is a weird spot, will take some getting used to.
---
I looooove this song. The lyrics are so on point and at the same time timeless as they could have been written 30 years ago and still fits, society has not changed as much as we thought and we're facing the sad  truth at the moment. I love the "train is coming breakdown and the crescendo of the song. Anyone that says Depeche Mode is not political doesn't know the band, really.
---
So after about a dozen listens on my decent sennheisers and not my ear buds and on Itunes and not YouTube I can safely say that I am definitely really impressed. The Corrupt comparison is evident on the verses but loving that song anyway doesn't really affect this for me. The main observation for me is the structure and layering that is really subtle in the verses, very atmospheric with reverb guitars layered behind the electronics for once and a deep crisp electronic baseline that adds punch to what on firs listen appeared quite a lame track. The middle 8/ train is coming but is still a bit cringeworthy and weird but no more than how I felt when I heard the "Goodbye" chorus from Delta Machine. All in all I'm giving it a thumbs up and there is a definite noticeable difference in the production of this track than from Hilliers last two albums
---
Some parts sound like Corrupt, but "Revolution" has that anthemic vibe that Corrupt lacks (it owes much to Ford's great production).

Overall, it's a nice comeback song. Hope the album keeps touching on the subjects WTR deal with.
---
1rst listen: love it.

DM going political again, reminds me of the good old 80's.

And yes, it sounds similar to Corrupt but to me, this one is stronger and much more interesting because of its variations.

The train part is fantastic.

I'm pleased and now, really, heavily looking forward to hearing Spirit.
---
Indeed it sounds amazing with earphones, it has many layers of sounds that are unnoticed in shitty computers/phones speakers. I have listened at least 12 times in the last 2 hours. I just can't get enough of it.
---
It's not bad for a Fletch song...
---
This one's better than Wrong and Heaven, but I think I liked Precious more when I first heard it. The verses are toooooo long. The chorus is nice. But I have to say I was hoping for a catchier tune (or at least a catchier intro, because DM was great at this up until PTA). Production seems better than on their last three albums, thankfully. All in all, not bad, I'm looking forward to the album. Also, a sped-up remix might do wonders.
---
I listened to the new song several times. I tried. I really tried. I'm sorry. The song sucks great big monkey balls. Especially so, because of the idiotic bridge. 3/10. The song is a bore. Meh...
---
It could sound a little bit like Corrupt... in my book, Corrupt it's a better song than anything on Delta Machine, so, good work guys! :)
---
Well, I have to say...the girl was a typical one. As in, the song didn't blow me away like Heaven did.
---
I'm digging this so, so fucking much. Back to the CTA days of actually talking about shit in the world AND a great sounding track. I can\t fucking wait for the album now...
---
Love the song, the artwork, the lyrics, the video animation.

"And That's All I Have To Say About That"
---
Think I listened to WTR about 20 times in a row now, and the middle 8 was "strange" on first listen only because it seemed out of place. But after repeated listens, I love it (but I'm pretty easy when it comes to DM). Was really looking forward to this after the snippet at the Press Conference, and it's not at all, in a good way, what I thought we were gonna end up with after that snippet.
Super excited for Spirit!
---
Not as thrilled as when I heard Precious, Wrong or Angel for the first time. Even tho I like this "political" theme song for it's lyrics, I would have hoped it would be more punchy...and I've said it ever since Exciter...they are lacking good melodies in the music. Not the vocals but the music. It's a lot of sounds, noises and glitches. But when's the last time they came up with a catchy riff or synth melody? Ultra? With Home's guitar and ING's synth?

Now I think Delta Machine is way up there with their best work so I'm still hopeful the album will be awesome.
---
Good lyrics, nice production. But... Dear and deeply loved DM guys, where is the revolution? You are letting me down.
---
After a couple of first listens. As a lead single,  I would certainly rank it second behind Wrong since Exciter (not into Precious at all). However, and this is a production issue, the song really leaves a disjointed impression as if verse, chorus and bridge parts were just forced together without a good flow. The bridge part could have been more vocal and aggressive as well.
---
I did like the song, I thought I would listen to it once or twice  tonight, then kind of let it settle in a bit, and then a pair more of listenings tomorrow.
But I've already played it about five times. I like it, it's catchy and I really enjoy the part when Martin kicks in.
---
I have to say after many many listenings on multiple headphones,  studio monitors,  speakers in my home, I really like the song.  It surprised me,  admittedly I came in with lower expectations but there are layers to the song more than just buzzy synth sounds,  and the middle 8th was another pleasant surprise that I would have not guessed they would do.  MUCH better song the Heaven and a real positive note for the upcoming album. 
---
I'm neither dissapointed nor thrilled, the song is more or less on the level I thought it would be. The Genius has left them but they re still good enough to write a catchy tune.
Reminds me of Soothe my Soul quite a bit only it's got more melody than that one. On a scale from 0 (bottom) to 10 (top) I' d give the song 7 Points -  I honestly wasn't expecting anything better than that.

That having said my expectations for the Album are better now, Depeche haven't had a really convincing single since 2005 imo (some will mention wrong but it's not one of my favourites) so sadly they ve kept that tradition. On Delta I thought some of the Album tracks (plus Heaven) were the best so an ok lead single doesn't mean the Album has to be bad.

The glass is still half full for me.
---
Sad to say, but I find WTR utterly mediocre. I like that they have gone back to politics, but the song is a plod. The chorus is meant as a rallying cry, but the music is not punchy enough and the whole song sounds like it's cut and pasted together from the less catchy parts of DM's recent output.

5/10
---
Was a bit dissapointed at first listen. After five listens it starts to grow on me. I think I'm going to like this very much. Not quite what I expected, but I think really a strong song. Not necessarily a "hit" for the radio though. Won't get much airplay in South Carolina or Utah anyway with these lyrics...  :D
I love the "terror as a weapon / scare you till you're stupefied" part.

Yes, it has a lot of "Corrupt" in it musically.

At least nobody can complain about the lack of a middle eight this time. ;-)

It really needs more time to judge the song. But it got me hooked, it's sticking in the ear and is controversial. Curious for more now.
---
But yes, even though it's perhaps not the strongest middle eight ever it still improves the song. Just imagine how lame this was if it followed the usual verse/chorus/verse/chorus/blib blop rote.
---
I like this.

But it does sound more like a teaser than a lead single.

It sounds like recent DM but with a new lyrical theme. That's the difference.

I thought Revolution would be harder rocking and a song with more punch.

They probably throw in their "ETS-caliber" track for this era as this singles b-side.

Can't see them winning over any new fans, this is like they had released Alone from Delta as a lead. This is for the fans. So thanks!
---
First Listen - Was really digging it until the train part (middle 8 I guess it's called?).  Still liked the song as a whole, but was puzzled on the middle part.

Second Listen Forward - I guess I was just caught off guard with the train stuff, because now I think it fits perfectly and breaks up the song (in a good way) as well.  I **Maybe** would have gone with 2 or 3 instead of 4, but it's fantastic.

Production : Way better than any single off the last few albums
In General : My favorite DM single in quite a while (for sure better than the last few lead off singles)

A hit? : I am thinking this has the best chance of becoming a hit single due to the topic.  I already posted on Facebook I can see this becoming an anthem for my left leaning friends.  Yes, it is not specific, and can be applied to many groups (including Trump voters), but the left are going to grab this and play it at all the rallys, marches etc.  I'm surprised no one has mentioned this.  If a few news stations or mainstream radio stations play this, it will blow up...

All in all, best DM single (if not song in general) in years!
---
I think I like it.

For me it definitely sounds an improvement 'sound wise' than the last 3 recent albums, though perhaps not by as much as I would have liked. Was hoping for a bigger departure.

But, yes, it sounds like DM and I am hopeful for the album.
---
Sounds ok to me - not the best thing they've done but far from the worst

As for it making the UK charts- no chance.
---
Nice. Nice. Not thrilling, but nice.
---
Only had a couple of listens so far...dont know what to think yet.....the train section grinds on me a bit tho....
---
For me, the song a little loses momentum during the second verse. The pacing/flow/whatever you call it feels unnatural or forced. Still not bad at all.

I hope we get a good music video to elevate the song.
---
I really like it.

Anyone else hear some Secret to the End intro in the Revolution intro? That's OK, though.

A real DM type lead single. Not hit material but a song with lots of substance. Makes me look forward to Spirit with joy and excitement.
---
I like it and the message not too preachy or being direct in either political leaning direction. Which I am happy about since I am a Trump voter and a registered Republican.

The lyrics seem to touch on all political views and ideas. Which is what Martin does best not overtly in your face but allows the listening to interpret it what his message is or could be.

I think it was written from the stand point of "armchair political" that talk about changing things but never vote but then are not happy when their person or party loses.

Or these that have felt left out of the political process that did vote and the career politicians instead answers to the special interests that funded them.

Getting on the Train line is to invite all to join to gather and unit to make the world better for all.

It took me two to three listens to wrap my head around the track.

I do like it just wish there was a little more "flesh" to song music wise and just miss the days of the "classic" DM track.

I too think this will catch on and will work out Live and should end up being a staple track as another crowed sing along for this and future tours.

I'm impressed and very much looking forward to Spirit.

Odd there are no separate single release with a proper b/side.
---
Well I'm on board. �
---------------------------------------------------------------
Innen gyűjtöttem: 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr7612190592

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása