Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

Az n-tv.de interjúja Martinnal - a HOME Fórumosok fordítása

2017. március 22. - Szigi.

You have presented your new album "Spirit" in Berlin in a very intimate setting - intimate for the audience, but also for you. How was it for you?

Martin Gore: In such an intimate setting, in which people are so close to one, is actually also strange for us. And so it was a bit odd for us, as it was the first time in three years that we have ever played together in front of the audience. Nevertheless, it was fun.

Is such a performance perhaps even more difficult than a concert before a more or less anonymous mass?

Well, in a sense, that makes no difference. The concert was broadcast online live. From now on it is forever for the mass of complete posterity in the net. (Laughs)

You have consciously decided to present the album in Germany and especially in Berlin. Why?

Especially with Berlin we feel very connected. We came here at a very early stage of our career, in 1983 with the album "Construction Time Again". We were young and therefore easy to impress. It was the first time we have spent a long time outside England. And of course that was also a special time with West Berlin, which was like an artist enclave. This has left a deep impression on us. And I'm not just saying that. For me, Berlin is something like the capital of Europe - and thus also a good place to present an album.

Since 1993, you publish your albums in absolute regularity - every four years. Is this a coincidence or has this rhythm proven to be a good thing for you?

For a time it was certainly just coincidence. And even today, we do not sit together and say: "So, four years, now we have to make an album." Nevertheless, it is probably no longer just coincidence. I think it's just the amount of time we need to get down after a tour, follow our solo projects, write new songs, return to the studio and finally release the album.

In four years, there will surely be some time without Depeche Mode, in which you are not together in the studio, on tour or interview tour. You live all three at different places around the world: you in Santa Barbara, Dave Gahan in New York and Andrew Fletcher in London. Did you get in touch with this time?

Not very much. I talk to Dave maybe twice a year on the phone. And with Andy maybe a little more common. But I find this quite healthy, because when we work together again on a project, we are together for two years. This is a long time in which you constantly stick together.

In the past, the allegedly perpetual rivalry between you as a musical mastermind and Dave as an extroverted frontman of the group was often discussed. How do you get along today?

I think our relationship is good. And I can not remember a time when it would have been terrible. When Dave once said I was a dictator, I was rather surprised. I never felt that I could put pressure on others or dictate everything. But you have to know: From 1982 to 2005 I wrote all songs alone. When Dave suddenly began to write songs, the system has already shattered for a time.

With "You Move" you also wrote a song on your new album "Spirit". Does this work well?

Yes, so far it has always worked out well. I think we both like to work isolated. I had a vague idea for the song and sent him a sound file. He then added text and vocals and sent me the file so I could finish the song.

Many critics judge "Spirit" that it is your most pessimistic and gloomy album so far. Do you agree with that?

Maybe yes. The point around the album is that it is just badly ordered for humanity. We need a kind of spirituality again and we have to find our way back. We live in desolate times. The song "Eternal" is about a rising black cloud, which brings a radioactive shower. I can not remember the last time I really worried about a possible nuclear war. Now I do. Unfortunately, this does not seem too far-fetched.

Just the first three songs on the album - "Going Backwards", "Where's The Revolution?" And "The Worst Crime" - are very political and seem to fit perfectly to topics like Donald Trump or the Brexit. In fact, they were written before the occurrence of these events. This almost seems prophetic ...

Well, the world was not already in the best condition, when I started towards the end of 2015, beginning of 2016 with the writing of the songs. There were already many signs at that time. The US election campaign is running for two years. Trump was already considered a promising candidate for the presidential candidate of the Republicans. The other terrifying topic for me was the events in Syria. I just can not believe the world powers allow that. And then there is the so-called war against terror. Why did he lead? Meanwhile there is more terror than ever before.

You wonder where the revolution is. But in a certain way, it seems to be yes, even if it is a backward-looking and right-wing revolution ...

True, in a sense it is. You have felt that many people are very angry and frustrated. But I never expected that would lead to the brexit or the election trumps.

You live in the USA. Can you imagine leaving the country because of Trump?

This is difficult. I have a 14 year old son. If I am not on tour, I have him regularly with me. Until he finished school, I do not really have the option to leave the country. I believe, if Trump continues to push his insane agenda, the protests will increase. And if I'm not on tour, I'll join them.

You have not only a 14-year-old son and two children in their 20s but also a small daughter since the beginning of 2016 ...

True, I have a daughter who is a year and a month old. And I have a daughter who is just a week old.

For real? I did not know that. Congratulation!

Yes, she was born on Monday (March 13). And on Tuesday I had to leave to come to Germany.

Has it changed your view of things and made you more thoughtful again that you have two so small children again today?

Maybe. Some of the songs on "Spirit" I wrote while my wife was pregnant. And I wrote "Eternal" for my one-year-old daughter. But I believe the only way to get older is to grow older.
But you always had that ...
Yes, but not so pronounced. Today, I am much more apart and I also feel that I understand politics much better than I did when I was younger.

You said your older children would not take you seriously since they saw pictures of you in the 80s. How do they look to their father today?

(Laughs) I'm getting along very well with them. The brain understands things that you do not want to be reminded too often. There is a funny story: We had this confrontation with Richard Spencer (right-wing extremist US publicist, editor). He had referred to us as the "poster" of the alt-right movement. Since Peter, our keyboardist, has sent an old photo of me in a mini skirt and with make-up. The question is, "Does the 'poster band' of the Alt-Right movement look like this?" (Laughs)

You have never seen any signs of fatigue, or made any suggestion to dissolve Depeche Mode. Does that mean that we can expect your next album in four years?

I always say that we can not predict it. I have been doing this since 1986. We are always planning our current project. Now we have to do with "Spirit" a good year, for example, in which we go on tour. And then? You can never know that - and I do not mean that in the negative sense.

Itt az eredeti cikk

És innen van a fordítás

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr8412362665

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása