Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

Angelinda megszerezte a Sonic Seducer-ből a teljes Anton interjút (HOME fórum)

2014. december 03. - Szigi.

Forrás:

http://www.dmtvarchives.com/forum/index.php?topic=422.msg18479#msg18479

(forrás/fordítás: Angelinda - HOME)

http://i1257.photobucket.com/albums/ii503/FuellingObsession/Album2/Album2001/2014-11-21-SonicSeducerGermany-DepecheModeTouringMachine1-1.jpg

http://i1257.photobucket.com/albums/ii503/FuellingObsession/Album2/Album2001/2014-11-21-SonicSeducerGermany-

DepecheModeTouringMachine2-1.jpg

http://i1257.photobucket.com/albums/ii503/FuellingObsession/Album2/Album2001/2014-11-21-SonicSeducerGermany-DepecheModeTouringMachine3-1.jpg

"2014-11-21 - Sonic Seducer (Germany) - Depeche Mode Touring Machine

Sonic Seducer: In the concert-footage, there are relatively speaking very few shots of the audience. Why?

Anton Corbijn: For me, it was important to capture the concert from the point of view of the audience, as if you are looking directly at the stage. These people are here to watch the band, and this is the view that I wanted to capture. In the footage, you only see the crowd when the band is interacting with the fans, for instance during "Behind The Wheel" or "Never Let Me Down Again".

Sonic Seducer: What exactly do you do during the concerts? Are you filming, or are you merely giving directions?

Anton Corbijn: I try to do both. I am the director, while positioning the cameras. This question also has to do with the fact that some people think that the concert absolutely had to be released on BluRay. I like watching a concert in the old-fashioned way. I am not very fond of these modern cameras flying around. I like the approach that everything is being seen from one point of view. As if one is standing among the crowd. So I actually did not use a lot of modern technology. It might have to do with the fact that I grew up in the 70's - I like the concerts which were shot back then. I like it when my live recordings appear to be a bit unpolished, in the same way that my photo's are very grainy. I am comfortable with that.

Sonic Seducer: The DVD "Live In Berlin" is a compilation of the two concerts in the O2 Arena. How high is the proportion of both gigs?

Anton Corbijn: It is obvious that they have been mixed. Even though the band are wearing the same clothes. I am quite certain that there are a few small items here and there which cause the hardcore fans to recognise from which date the footage is. The song "Goodbye" was played by the band only on the second date. I absolutely wanted them to play it, because after the first leg of the tour this song was cut off from the setlist. But I love this track! Depeche Mode are very settled in their shows: there are the classic songs, and then there are the encores. They perform nothing more. So I asked Dave if they nevertheless could perform "Goodbye". It would be a bonus for the crowd and a great final song! And I had created a special video for this song, which was projected on the screen in the background. It would have been a shame to not use it for the DVD. In any case, most of the footage is from the second night. That was the foundation, and then I added some slices from the first concert.

Sonic Seducer: How much sooner do you get to hear the new songs? That is surely important for your artwork and stage design labour.

Anton Corbijn: I visit the band every now and then in the studio and I listen to a couple of things, so that I will get an idea of what direction the new material is going to take. The artwork for "Delta Machine" was created by coincidence. I took a photo of the window, when I was visiting the band in the studio. Of this industrial construction, some kind of gas holder or something like that. Then the combination with the hand-drawn deltas was produced. It was not an idea which I already had beforehand. Usually it will happen that I will sketch a few ideas and present them to the band. I took the photos for "Delta Machine" in 2012, but the films for the screen projections were recorded much later, because I had to know the setlist first. And for that, the band of course needs a lot of time.

Sonic Seducer: How would you describe the atmosphere backstage?

Anton Corbijn: Martin was so relaxed, I've never seen him so relaxed before. The live film also concentrates very much on the chemistry between Martin and Dave on stage, which transfers onto the crowd. It is great to see this. I have known the band for so long, they're a bit like a family to me. Although I am never a part of the crew which travels along with the band, I do watch a few gigs. And as soon as I am there, I feel like part of an entire machine.

Sonic Seducer: You were for this DVD active as an interviewer for the first time. What was that like? Did the people recognise you?

Anton Corbijn: In the 90's I interviewed the band for a presskit film and I now wanted to do this again. I am not sure if the band even wanted to make this live film at first. Depeche Mode are that good that it would have been a shame if there hadn't been one. So I convinced them to it and so I had the most labour. But to get to your question: yes, the people did recognise me, and it was a very nice problem. It shouldn't be about me. It was a bit stupid, because the people should tell an interviewer their opinion.

Sonic Seducer: On the DVD, an interview section with the band can be seen, with which it first seems as if they were all in the same room. Yet, on second viewing, it can be recognised that this is not the case. What is the idea behind that?

Anton Corbijn: We recorded the interview with Fletch in Berlin in November, it was really cold. We therefore looked for a space out of which you can see a part of the city through the window. And the part with Martin was recorded in an old brothel in Berlin, where also the extra tracks on the bonus DVD "Alive In Berlin" were recorded. Dave, on the other hand, preferred to record the interview after the tour, because he was of the opinion that he would have a better view of the tour then. So we interviewed him in Manhattan. There I also picked a hotel room, out of which you can see the skyline.

Sonic Seducer: How does it go when the band has finished a new album and needs artwork plus stage design for the tour?

Anton Corbijn: Much goes through Jonathan Kessler. The band members are living in different cities, that is a bit problematic. I make some designs and usually they don't like them at first. It is a process, until finished artwork is being created. The result is most of the time completely different from the original idea. With this tour, it was the case that the band had seen nothing of the stage before the first concert. The first time [was] at the warm-up gig in Nice. If they had not liked it then, then that would be really bad. By the way, the booklet of the live DVD shows some little drawings of my original sketches. That's all the band got to see. For that, a lot of trust is needed. I have to make sure that I actually earn the band's trust.

Sonic Seducer: For the "Devotional" DVD, you were nominated for a Grammy back then. How important would it be for you to be given such an award?

Anton Corbijn: I do not think about that at all. I also believe that my work is too old-fashioned and too personal for that. That is why I was very surprised. "Devotional" was a great tour, but with a rare atmosphere. That transferred onto the recording. It was the biggest tour for Depeche Mode so far and they have never presented themselves like that again. But I never made something while having an award in the back of my mind. If it happens - great - but if it doesn't - then no. It's the same thing with the BluRay: you should never try to please others, you must please yourself! There are always people who like what you make. I would like to make a few films of which the band will be a part. I have been thinking about it for a few years and I am certain that the fans would love to see the band on screen. Let's see what that will be. I'll keep it in mind.

Catrin Nordwig"

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr16953579

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása