Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

A HOME Fórumosok első benyomásai a Where's The Revolution-ról - harmadik rész

2017. február 07. - Szigi.

On first impression I quite like it. Had hoped for more tempo and for once I think Gore's lyrics miss the point. Always sounds a little hollow when multi millionaires has something to complain about. Should the people revolt against corporate fatcats charging the common man 110 euro+ for a concert ticket? I do like the return to the doomladden content that he abonded in the 90s. The track itself  is not bad at all. Nice with a big catchy chorus, great electronic sound, love the rumbling bass, and the slide guitar reminds me of Violator. With more tempo and a synth hook this could've been a hit. Looking forward to the album. Anyone know when the single track list will be revealed?

---

WTR on 6 Music now with some words removed.

---

The BBC obviously not liking the lyrics....no Junkies or Pissing....

---

Great song!!! Looking forward to "Spirit"

---

In Gahan's words "I prefer people think WTF is that to ok, it's another depeche Mode classic!!!"

So the the more I listen It the more I like It"

Depeche reinventing themselves again!!! WOW!

---

Just had my first listen.  Loved it!

Yes, the build-up to the chorus is a little similar to Corrupt, but I don't mind that.  Must be one of the catchiest choruses they've had on a single for quite some time, maybe since Precious?

Plenty of "oomph" in the track as well, a good bass with some harsh guitars.

I wonder if it might be a show-opener...?

---

Great single in my book. Looking forward to clip

---

I think it´s alright. Have listened to it quite a few times and can´t shake the comparison with "corrupt" (a song I never cared for). I like the train-part, but I always feel the timing for the beginning of the chorus is a bit off.

---

Yeah, not bad, not bad! Way to slow, but promising...

---

Had another listen this morning to Corrupt.....sorry WTR!

Found my mind wandering pretty early on. It's okay, nothing more. Yet again no real melodies or riffs which Martin used to stuff songs to the gills with. Goes on far too long as well.

I'll give it 5.5 out of 10. Heaven was the one of the weakest tracks on Delta so hopefully the same applies here.

---

I really like it.  A good chorus and a surprising bridge.

A good sound.  As a lead single, is much better than Heaven.

8.5 / 10

---

So after multiple listens my conclusion is this...I like the verses and the strange train portion at the end. I really dislike the chorus. It's jarring and doesn't match the rest of the song at all. 6-10 so far. But I've only had the song for several hours. I thought Barrel of a Gun was the worst thing I'd ever heard by DM when it first aired. Now many years later I think it's one of their best.

I still enjoy Heaven...as a sleeping aid.

---

Like the track very much - simple lyrics, good synths, Dave+Mart vocals on top

---

I like the beginning and I think it's pretty much OK song and the lyrics are great right up until the train part. I think that part is kind of pathetic actually.
Some sounds is right up my alley but I think they use too much disted sounds. I'm a bit tired of that and like som clean sounds again and a undisted drumbeat.
I'm a bit concerned becuase I think this release reminds me of SOTU, Wrong was a descent song but not a great first single and the album was not that good (Except for Perfect, I really liked that. Also Light was pretty good)

I am one of the few that think Exciter was a brilliant underestimated album and SOTU is right at the bottom.
Well well, Delta Machine is a great album that is tough to follow up.

---

For a band that says it like to progress musically, this could have come off any of the last 3 albums and been as memorable as those...Corrupt, Goodbye just to name a few. And what's with that train bit in the middle? Really? REALLY?

I remember the good ol' days where you had a smoothness and clarity to the sound rather than it  trying to sound rough and manly and current by adding in beeps and distortion etc through every bloody song for the last 15 years . There's a reason why most people got into DM and that's from their period up to around 1994 - you had  impassioned, glorious and intimate songs with a smooth production where you could actually hear the instruments being played and be 'taken on a trip'. Lets face it, how many of their 'best' songs would sound as good with the production of the last 3 or 4 albums? Waiting for the Night (with distortion and whistles) Enjoy the Silence (with distorted guitars and beeps or One Caress with crunchy sounds and buried and distorted instrumentation?

And before anyone says I'm talking from the past, listen to their last few albums, you could pretty much mix the songs about and you'd never know what came from what, except perhaps that dirge of SOTU.

I've been a fan since 1988 but I've been holding onto the torch for the last 15 years hoping to have something I could latch onto and enjoy and not feel like my senses are being battered by terrible production. So while this song has some merit, it is not that great and as much as the chorus is pretty good, you will feel like you've been battered after a few listens. Again. Like the last 15 years.

I'm not even going to start about Dave and his lounge singing, especially live. "Yeah, that's right" No Dave, it's not right. And it's not clever. Try singing the bloody song and not being an Elvis parody. If I hear "Oh yeah" or "What??" or "Yeah that right!" once more... I can't even listen to their live stuff anymore.

Rant over. I need a hot chocolate and sit down in a dark room.

---

The point is, we love DM. Or loved. And we know there is greatness in there, and this album might be awesome. But with their continued production and way they want songs to go, they are actually pushing their fans away. We love them because their songs resonated with us, like a memory of a love, so you are always emotionally involved with them. But when you keep bumping into that love ever 4 years or so and they have now started shouting at you and sounding a bit crap, you try remembering the good times and you want to see them and you want to keep hoping they pull themselves around. And that's us. We want them to be good again. Amazing again. And stop being 'this'.

---

Decent verse, nice chorus, love the production, awful middle eight bit.

Better than Heaven, not as good as Wrong or Precious.

---

Generally I totally agree, being fan from 1989. But to save my nerves generally, I found a following approach:
I divide the Eras clearly and treat the last era like it would be a different band. That's it.
For me the band DM existed for the period 1981-1998  (it just happened so that
Ultra and the Singles Tour 1998 had still the same spirit of that era, for me at least).
So, for all those years since 2001 we actually can see and hear some kind of new band,
which has not so much in common with "old DM". You can make a comparison / analisys by many aspects and you will get such conclusion, objectively. Ideally, Trio should change the name in 2001.. for  Black Swan, for example :) That would be a perfect move (but not to be done in this world, right..)
So, at the end of the day, the crucial point is NOT to expect from currently existing band anything to be
"like DM". Then you will save nerves and hot chocolate stock.

---

I really do wish you would've left out all the we's, because (while well put) you don't speak for all of us. Clearly some can relate to what you're saying, but I for one cannot.

Perhaps I am one of the lucky ones. Their songs still resonate with me. I find their "new" (if you can call a sonic diversion that happened decades ago "new") sound appealing. Depeche Mode never sounded better to me than they do on "Wrong" or "Angel". I love the grit, the dirt, the unapologetic, the ugly, the weathered, the (for a lack of a better word) settled Mode. They've finally found themselves, and are comfortable being slightly uncomfortable.

I love that. That's why I keep coming back. Their latter albums have fewer "skips" for me than their earlier ones. I wouldn't say their pre-1990 stuff is all cringeworthy, but there's some pretty wimpy duds in there, that I'm glad I did not hear until I had learned to love them for the Violator/Songs of Faith and Devotion period.

For me "Music For The Masses" had two truly great songs on it, a lot of good ones and some truly dire shit.
For me "Black Celebration" had three truly great songs on it, a fair few good ones and some truly dire shit.

Before that, only "Construction Time Again" has anything that's bearable for me.

I was late getting into Mode. Or rather, I got into Mode at roughly the same age as anyone who gets into a band this way, but I was lucky to be a teenager when Depeche Mode had already become great; and I think they've been consistent since (if we discount Exciter, which for all sorts of reasons, I just have a really weird relationship with - love the era and the memories; can't listen to the album in full).

Now, let's get back to the actual topic at hand: Where's The Revolution (gotta get used to not putting in that question mark).

I think it's a good track, and I think they've captured the zeitgeist perfectly. It's also growing for me, which is always a good sign. It's classic Martin in that it works on many levels, and from many different perspectives. The production sounds really good; at least from what I can hear on that YouTube clip. The mastering worries me - sounds muddled in parts.

Is it a drastic departure from the Hillier sound? No, not really.
Is that a bad thing? I don't think so.
Is it an obvious single? Well, it's a statement for sure, but I can't see them gaining a lot of traction with radios, but then again, does radio *really* matter for a band like them anymore?

So look, the "this" you refer to is actually really, REALLY good, current, relatable, relevant. For some. Just not for you. I like the analogy of an ex you keep bumping into. If it truly feels that way "bumping into" this ex, then I would maybe think it's time to stop seeking them out. Love them for what they were to you, and let go. Or not.

---

I like the song. Miles better than Heaven and all singles from Delta.
Still, it sounds like it could have been on Delta due to the extreme bluesfulness.
The intro and the bass sound like SMS and WTMW. Verses sound like Corrupt.
I'm sure we'll see more of James Ford's work when the album comes out.
I'm very excited. Like I was when Wrong came out (too bad SOTU was a disappointment).

In their recent discography I'd rate it on the same level as Wrong and slightly below Precious for commercial purposes.

I can't hardly wait for a remix made solely around the train is coming middle 8

---

While I don't think it is a standout track or that it will be successful, I'm ok with WTR. It is a rehash of old ideas, the verses are kind of weak, but I like the chorus and the middle 8. I don't particularly like Dave's delivery, but it doesn't bother me that much.

Looking forward to the album, I hope there are some tracks there that will tick all the boxes for me. WTR was most probably chosen as a single not because they thought it was a standout track, but because they thought it was relevant in the political context. We'll see and hear!

---

New, fresh listen this morning, with better audio (hearing all the nuances).

Premise: forgetting it has a blues scheme I would like DM to forget a little bit about for some time, it is:

- powerful, and anthemic. As I said, a great singalong at gigs.
- the electro start is very good. (when it goes down a note during the first verse, you identify the blues)
- chorus no problem with its abrupness, it' s right. Nice bleeps and bits, and guitar is there but fills the space and is only in the background. Fine
- start of new verse: I like the "Blade Runner" "organ" melody notes behind Dave when he starts singing
- I like the shovel sound during the chorus
- train is coming is great, builds up very well, good suspension, good counterchoruses from MLG (could be shorter though)
- final stripped down chorus shows another possible version of the song. Interesting, less dirty but to be "filled" more: Maybe the polished version some of us would have preferred.

A more than good effort I believe.

---

Instead of "Where's The Revolution", the should have named it:

Where's The Chorus?
Where's The Melody?
Where's The Tempo?
Where's The Beat?

I'm sorry, but another weak first single. Like Heaven it's an ok album track. But as expected, the chorus is not strong enough, it's too slow, the drums are of the flimsy, thin kind (again!), and wordt of all, there's no melody at all, just more of the pling, plong, bleeb, bleeb.

Another let down. Bummer.

---

Listening again to better versions, Album Version (4:59) and Radio Edit (3:55). After some 30 plays, I have to say I don't think it will be a hit. It's a grower to a certain point, but not much more than that. No catchy riffs, nothing to keep my attention for too long. As some people said, it leans a lot on their output from the last 15 years, production-wise. Some like it, some don't, it's OK. I just wished they released a song with a bigger hit potential. Waiting for remixes now. Shouldn't be too long...

---

For me the best and melodic part is the middle part (train). That also sounds like Depeche to me. I am getting a bit tired of the grunge/blues/electronic songs. Missing the beauty. But maybe that's just me:) Still immensely looking forward to the album and seeing them live again though!

---

Well first of all you do need to hear it from a decent source to appreciate it. The Spotify Premium version is better than the radio/YouTube.

I like it, but it's pretty much what I've come to expect. After building a bit it doesn't go anywhere (surely the last chorus should have come crashing in, maybe even with some live drumming? It's a call for revolution!) I have quibbles with the mastering and although I like it, I see it more as a track with potential (like Wrong). I doubt it'll be a hit;  it'll do well to be on any playlist in the UK (and the single edit is awful).

It doesn't deserve some of the criticism here. Nice to have them back, but the days of radical sonic change are gone. I'm not sure what John Ford has done as this could happily sit on Delta Machine or PTA, but at least it's better than most of SOTU.

---

I like it.

The "The train is coming" bit reminded me of Lil' Beethoven-era Sparks.  No bad thing, in my humble opinion.

The chorus is strong and has the same chord sequence as Barrel Of A Gun's chorus.  Again, no bad thing, as for me that is one of their very finest moments.  It is a lot better than Heaven, Precious (which I still just don't get, I'm afraid).  I think it rivals Wrong as their best first single since the mighty Barrel Of A Gun.

Looking forward to the album a bit more now.

---

I didn't get on board this train until after I saw DM in November 2013. I loved Delta not knowing who it was by so was a little suprised to find that Depeche Mode were still a thing. Since then I have probably listened to DM on a daily basis but this is the first time I have anticipated a new release as a fan. In a nutshell (and in my opinion) it sounds like Corrupt, it sounds a bit disjointed (as if there were lots of ideas but they don't quite gel), it sounds like it could have come off SOTU or Delta, I like the lyrics  (weird though if it was written in 2015), I like the layers which become more noticeable the more I listen. I can sing to it so there is a catchy hook. I wanted to like it a bit more than I do, but I think its a grower.
The thing with being a fan is you re-listen until the melody grows on you (or not). If you were just a casual listener hearing it on the radio, I'm not sure it would draw you in to listen again, it might just be casually dismissed.
I like it about 7/10 at the moment.
Sorry that's a big nutshell.

---

I think WtR is a little bit too slow, but I like it very much (especially the middle part "the train is coming"). The sound is very good and better produced as it was with Hillier. I like the full and massive sound (not the queer/overloaded Hillier sound like PTA). WtR could also be a song from the delta machine, but as I like this album this is ok for me. WtR is not a sensation, but it is ok for me and it makes me curious how spirit will be....

Just my two cents..... 

---

With all due respect  way to many complainers.
That's a good song.Very good.

---

Worst release ever by DM in any format (single, EP, LP or compilation) according to Rateyourmusic.

Worse that The Meaning of Love, Love in itself or the Composition of Sound demos.

That means that people is not very credible when judging the new DM material.

---

No revolution in this song.

---

3 plays already today on 6 Music. The radio edit is a little disappointing with the lyrics removed which I feel is a bit unnecessary, I'm sure I've heard other songs on the radio with p*ssed in the lyrics like Push It (I've never heard Wrong on the radio). And junkie is hardly a bad word, maybe it is just the context that it's used in that got it removed. I can't remember if it was removed from Soothe My Soul when it got played regularly on daytime XFM radio, I wasn't listening to 6 Music back then. I like the ending of the full version (i.e. the last repeat of the chorus), and I think that's been omitted too.

Overall I'm happy with it. I don't love it, but it's anthemic, relevant and should be great live. I hope so.

6 weeks till the album and 4 months till London. Exciting times ahead!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Innen gyűjtöttem: http://www.depeche-mode.com/forum/index.php?topic=31362.0

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr1112190614

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása