Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

A HOME Fórumosok első benyomásai a Where's The Revolution-ról - negyedik rész

2017. február 07. - Szigi.

Dave's voice is distorted all over the song, which is weird 'coz the verses are at low level which brings a strange contrast of levels. The song missed the changing of effects and layers used in harmony with the build up and the change inbetwen the song. If an effect is on, that is on throughout the whole song. Too bad.

---

Just this morning my first thought was this sounds like an album cut from SOTU.  Have listen to half a dozen times and I would rank this as one of their worst sings singles Martyr.  The straightforward and slightly pretentious lyrics to Dave's singing, just can't get into it.  I wasn't impressed with Heaven as their first single last time around but I still ended up like Delta for the most part.  So I'm hopeful that the album should turn out some good tracks.

---

My comparison with ‘lead off’ singles from the albums, post-Wilder
Barrel of a Gun - WTR is worse
Dream On – WTR is better
Precious - WTR is better
Wrong - WTR is better (edges it because of more variation in WTR)
Heaven – WTR is better
I do prefer Martyr to WTR though!

---

Today I heard the song on the radio as well. And it was shorter version indeed. I didn't pay attantion to the lyrics, so can't say what was removed, but definitely the middle 8 with the train was much shorter and there was no ending like on the album version. All this make shorter version much worse than Album version.

So I wonder if the Radio Version might be Single Version as well. IIRC in case of SMS, radios played Single Version.

---

Man I love this song.

Corrupt was the unfinished sketch, this is the final product!

---

After listening to it for one day now, what I can say is:

- It doesn't blow me away like Barrel of a gun, I feel you or Wrong did. It is clearly not another Depeche Mode "hit" songwise, rather a solid, even strong album track.

- The production has been praised by so many here, but I find it rather uninspired. The sounds are taken from Martin's solo album "MG", the verse is beautiful but doesn't go together with the chorus and vice versa, there is again (!) no buildup in the production so that the song doesn't have much punch, really. When I first heard it and the chorus kicked in so suddenly, I found it even a bit amateuristic and was wondering how this could happen to the band.

- Soundwise, the band indeed seems to be stuck in the frame of the Hillier-albums. Does it come from the synths they use, the working method, whatever - I don't know, but while all albums till Playing the Angel sounded different to the one's before, it seems that this time it's "new producer, same sound".

- I like a couple of the lyrics, not sure about other parts, but the overall intention is good and that gives me a good feeling for the upcoming album.

- The bridge/middle 8 reminds me of "In chains", but is better. I guess Depeche Mode have finally reached their Bowie and Pink Floyd stage by now.

- All in all, I think this will be a grower. Could be a great live song, too. Not the optimum to say that about the first single of a new Depeche Mode album, of course. In the good times, these songs would just hit me right in the face and leave me speechless. This is not the case here. But here's hope for a good album in which "Revolution" will just flow amongst other songs.

---

It is unfair to think that WTR is the worst thing DM has ever released, including the Composition of Sound demos. It's not an opinion. It is unfair.

---

I find it a very strong and catchy song. Love the bassline in the beginning and the tempo shifts in the song.  :) I think this is their strongest return since Precious. I love it. Thx.

---

WTR is a great track. It's a grower. Interesting change of tempo. Nice middle 8.

---

Anyone that says WTR is one of the worst DM songs is being really childish, c'mon, you know that's not true, the fact that it doesn't sound like what you expected doesn't mean it's bad. For me is the best lead single since Precious and it could become a classic, I don't find many similarities with Hillier era, I do find similarities with MG though with much richer arrangements.

---

It's all a bit middling really. Production sounds like it could have been on delta machine. I like the chorus, the verses lack energy somehow and don't do the lyrics justice, the middle 8 made me cringe a bit at first listen. It's ok but not amazing.

---

not a groundbreaking first single. Might sound well live but expected a bit more. It's a pretentious title and i find too many similarities with previous albums sound-wise.  Lyrics are not special too, way too straightforward.

---

Dave and Martin still sound great, even after all these years! I love the chorus! It really sounds like classic DM to me. I also feel like the production is better than on the last couple albums. Thumbs up!

---

I like the new song, and also the lyrics (even though they might be a bit too ambiguous really). The train part is brilliant!

A few hours ago, a local radio station played it which is cool. But I think the song is too slow and too edgy (for want of a better word) to get played often on the radio. But who knows, maybe I'm wrong.

---

Not really, were you around during SOTU era? God, that was a war zone, worse than Delta Machine and Where's the Revolution discussions. Hole To Feed and Peace videos were the worst thing ever to discuss in a Depeche Mode forum 

---

Just got to listen to it for the first time on my big HiFi speakers.
Turned the volume up and damn it sounded so much better than on the computer with headphones.
Especially the drums which I could now really "feel".
Great song and hoping for more of this on the album.

---

What I'm thinking when I hear this track is: "Where's the DM I used to know and love?"

When you're singing about a "revolution", you'd expect someting striking, uplifting, and with some oomph. Like APTIUT for instance. But DM have lost the ability to "rock" it seems. There's nothing revolutionary about this. It's another minimalistic laidback track. Like on SOTU.

Not that it's really a weak track, but for a first single it's nothing special. No great intro, simple ending, Dave's singing is quite annoying with that long yelling, and the chorus has too many space. That train part is funny, but also a bit silly. And with 5 minutes it's too long.

They've chosen another album track for a first single.

---

 On the first listen, I wasn't so sure and it didn't sound radically different from a Delta Machine track however, following a good few blasts today, I've rather enjoyed the track on full blast. The production is crispier than the previous two albums and lyrically, the new single does sit nicely with current post-Brexit gloom here in the UK (thanks to all my fellow 'patriotic junkies' haha :)).

Looking forward to Spirit :)

---

1st Impression > Not a CLASSIC but a VG Song....a little different from what they did until now...GOOD production & this is a song (Melody) who is sticked into ur head...this is a good sign at 1st ! 

---

I like this, much better production, very modern sounding and nice punchy drums instead of the tinpot analog drum machines of late, Bravo.

---

I'm finding it's getting better the more I listen (and like others, I'm hearing more things).

Still needs a bigger ending and bigger drums imho. It's not revolutionary (ahem) but in keeping with the good stuff of recent years.

(Reading a lot of hate for Heaven, but the live in studio performance is the best version of that track.)

---

Hello, My first opinion after few listening to this song was that it's got quite lacking melody with not any strong chorus. Arrangement for this is...well there's missing a typical Hiller's creak which is definitelly a good thing. DM promised a highely electronic album. In this particular electronic sound's getting stronger in the chorus theme. I'm quite happy with the production though. Fresh producer and no more Hiller is found possibly very profitable and conceviably it'll be reflected on whole album. I'm really wonder for a whole thing inspite that the pilot single didn't bring the WOW effect to me. But there's a good chance that Mart is still a perfect composer, dave provides still a perfect vocal and at least they've got a better nose for a better team for the studio work for once after long long eight years.   

---

Well, been a fan since 83, been disappointed by a few releases over the years, they can't win them all ! Played revolution last night, thought ok, not ground breaking, played all morning got better and better went to work, played it in the car coming home and now it's got me, strong track, strong lyrics, thumping production,dark, nice atmospherics in the mix, solid, might not be the single some people wanted but everyone's playing it and I bet it'll sound great as it gels into the spirit album. Nice one DM ��

---

Admittedly, WTR is an odd song and for this very reason I love it! Perhaps each of us has his own standard to measure the tracks against - an important factor in my evaluation is the degree to which a song exerts an influence on me - whether good or bad, it almost does not matter. Impinging and impressing the audience is at the heart of arts of all kinds. WRT has proved to be much of a great surprise for the first hearing, and the more I listen to, the more complex it appears to be. I would never compare it with BOAG or Wrong (as many of you have done) as there is no point in doing so: each has its own identity (to quote Martin), and luckily enough, WTR is by no means an exception. That serves me right.

---

I didn't want to be a 'moaner' - after the press conference clip of WTR is was really impressed. It sounded like a solid idea, had some weight to the production, and the lyric sounded fresh. Loved it as soon as I heard that clip. Then...last night at midnight I listened to the full song, and all that positivity for the song from the PC was gone. Obviously that huge, epic chorus was still in place, but surrounded with verses that severely lack in any real character / uniqueness that Martin was once the absolute king of. Some of the lyrics are interesting, but the song doesn't grab you by the balls until the chorus kicks in. The 'train' part is just dire, and feels totally out of place.

So yeah, I wanted to love it, thought I would, but really it just amounts to a f**king good idea for a chorus.

I'm not moaning...I'm just talking, like what this place is for.

---

I quite like it, however if theyd released Peace first with SOTU or Should be higher as the lead Delta single, I'd have been worried about the forthcoming albums.

Different strokes for different folks

---

Listened to the you tube version and for me I thought decent enough. It was mentioned earlier in this thread that the clip probably gave the hook away to early and I probably agree with that. I didn't expect that middle eight though which I really like.

Just listened to on a hi res download and now I love this track. I can hear the train sounds getting louder and louder in that middle eight. Definitely more layered and punchier production throughout. Overall a very solid first track.

They will never satisfy everyone.  It really is so subjective. I have read so many threads over the years on here which has been facinating, exciter terrible, I like it ,  this track is awful , well it's my favourite etc etc... 

I value the opinions on this forum because through the years you can feel the passion for the band whether it's fulfilling expectations of they are fading for different members. Lots of valid point and opinions. The constant moaning though is grating.

I think DM are still very relevant and I can't wait for the album.

---

Well, it's been about 24 hours now and I've listened a handful of times (not the 30 and 40 of some admittedly) and I like bits of it.
I'm not sure about it as a lead single though, but tend to agree that it maybe be more about the subject capturing the moment.

Tbh though I rarely bother with singles anyway these days and can't really remember the last one I actually bought and it  could quite easily be 3 or 4 albums back.
Similarly. not too bothered about charts either and probably wouldn't even know where to look for something like a definitive chart show or whatever, despite this I do admit to getting a nice feeling if I see/hear that DM have charted well, with singles.
It feels like they've sneaked in under the radar somehow.

Musically I like it and despite not loving the chorus there's no denying it's very catchy and I keep finding myself randomly singing it.
So, job done I suppose.
I really don't like the 'train' section at all, and suspect that could get skipped when it comes to the album. But I'll wait and see, maybe in the context of the whole work it might click into place.

There's still plenty in this to have me looking forward to the album in a positive way, rather than just a feeling of hope, rather than expectation.

The one thing that I have thought about all day is, what would it feel like listening to it with a someone not a fan or maybe just unfamiliar with DM and I'm not sure this would help me 'sell' the band to them or help express why I love DM so much, in the same way I could put forward a passionate case with some other songs, even some that I've seen derided on here which I just happen to like.

Funnily enough, I played it to my wife earlier( who is a fan btw) fully expecting her not to like it at all, and she liked it on the first listen. Just goes to show.

---

I love the song!  It reminds me of Exciter...

---

Great song! Great lyrics! Great Depeche Mode!

---

If there's any song this reminds me of it's the Sweetest Condition/Perfection combo and that's a totally positive thing.

It's a solid song, something like 7.5/10 but the melancholic bridge with "The train is coming..." makes it a 9.

---

Ok, I've given it sufficient listens, albeit in shitty 192kbs YouTube quality, but there is plenty going on in the background that you only get on repeated listens. For me, no WOW factor, it's a solid but not spectacular song. I can fully understand why it's been released as the first single as it captures the zeitgeist.

I like the verses, but feel the chorus is weak and could have been developed, it's only two lines! When it comes again at the end after the Train I think I would have been better to have taken it up rather than down a notch, like NIN's Head Like A Hole chorus, rather than just letting it peter out.

Not keen on the "middle 8", lyrically I think it's weak and rather trite, but I do like the train sounds, even if it's no TEE.

Still looking forward to the album immensely (and some B-sides, live in the open air with no audience recordings :) and a 5.1 mix!

---

A very good song and a strong first single. DM wanted to return with a statement and they did it again. Sounds very different to the stuff you get to hear on the radio and watch on TV. Always liked them for having it their own way.

Two small things I would've added: 1. Punchier drums (percussion) during the chorus and 2. A little pause between the verses and choruses as they have it between the middle 8 and choruses would sound more natural imho

Overall, enjoying it quite a lot and looking forward to the album in March!

---

This song sounds as if they had taken things they had in past songs (i hear The sweetest Condition, Corrupt, Wrong, Breathe, Sweetest Perfection, and more in WTR)  put them together and make them work together.

To me, it's an excellent song. The lyrics are quite ambiguous: they could be obviously political/social but I also think they could be interpreted as someone talking to their best friend who is experiencing a crisis in their couple The music sounds rather simple at first when it's more complex in reality: that middle 8 (I love it!) and also the transition between the verses and the choruses is pretty uncommon.

Not sure about it being the best choice for a first single but I don't care. I love it.

---

The title in itself make it less ambiguous I think.
The lyrics are just fabulous! They summarize in a few words how foolishly people follow politicians and religious without reacting. So, where the hell is the revolution?! Do something! Think by yourself instead of following like sheep!

I think these lyrics are the stongest they wrote in that matter.

---

When I heard it the first time on YouTube I thought meh....

Then I bought it and listened through my very good expensive headphones and then it was whoa!! It wasn't the same song and I loved it, I've played it to death now and it gets better with every listen! I have been brainwashing my son to the church of the devoted and took him to his first DM gig when he was nine. Whilst he obviously has his own musical tastes and is now a musician in his own right he has retained his love for DM.

I sent him the YouTube link yesterday morning only to find he had already not only heard it but he'd also bought it, his comments as a 21 year old music buff....

"I love it, rockier sound and so much going on in there when you listen properly and lose yourself in it, really buzzing for the new album" he has always had his eye on my massive DM vinyl collection!

I know some haven't liked it but as someone who played Speak and Spell on his cassette player when it first came out at the age of 10 and everything since I love the fact Depehe Mode are still creating new interesting music and selling out stadiums and not joining other eighties bands doing retro tours and festivals and going through the motions.

I am massively thankful that especially after the dramatic aftermath of the devotional tour and Dave's health then and now that we have new Mode music to discuss and disagree over. I love WTR and am really excited about what Spirit will have to offer us.

---

Ok I feel dumb but I cannot hear the train sample people are referencing in middle 8. I hear the snare drum sample speading up. Sure sounds like same drum sample from sweetest perfection. Also you can hear what I think is the slide guitar early in the song in the distant background and then becomes more prominent at the end. It's nice to hear layers again. Even like how daves voice echos during the beginning verses.

Totally hear corrupt the way Dave sings it. It's almost like they borrowed from corrupt and sweetest perfection. I'm sure they didn't do that on purpose. But it's nice to hear nods to old songs at times.

On a separate note like many I have been here since Ultra days. This is a great forum. We go thru what I call the sensitive phase when the new albums come out. We all want to like it of course but inevitably we all don't.

It's ok if people come to the board and say they don't. If they call the song rubbish etc it's ok. Realize that they are just disappointed that they couldn't enjoy something with the band they love like other on the board can.

I feel bad that they couldn't enjoy it. Heck I've been there too....I struggled thru Exciter. I was so jealous that other members enjoyed it. I Still haven't forgiven them for SOTU but others here liked it. That was four years of me hating life � 

I'm grateful when I can enjoy the new songs or albums. I'm bummed and jealous when I can't and others can.

Glad to be enjoying this song. Happy to be on the forum for the last 20 years experiencing it together with you all.

---

I've given it 5 or 6 listens before I make a comment.

Excellent.

The intro synth sound is great - warm and solid with a lovely little simple key change that ripples throughout the song. As the song builds the wall of sound grows until the chorus bursts in and the guitar and synths grind it out. Clever little percussion shuffle in the middle bars of the chorus too.
The middle 8 has grown on me especially when I picked out Martin's harmonies and refrains.

Overall, very happy indeed with the sonic depth of the song and the lyrics too; powerful enough to keep me hooked and give the song some gravitas.

---

Will have to say I woke up this morning with the sound of trains in my head and that chorus over and over.  Yikes.  Hope that goes away.  It's an addictive sound.

---

So I just listened to it for the third time and its definitely growing - first listen wasn't impressed, gave it  second and third with the headphones and like most everyone else Im enjoying some of the crisper production on this (at least compared to the Hillier Years of which I was not  big fan of his style).

However - Dave's singing choice is definitely distracting. I swear we have heard the same on any number of songs from the past (at least) three albums. I think a more "ominous" tone in his lower range would have been helpful - this just comes off as whining? Its very harsh to listen to repeatedly.

The train is coming bit... yeah it was cheesy at first but it seems to fit and I do like the addition of Mart's lighter vocals in the background.

I think what I am hoping for on this album is at least one song with a slightly faster tempo. Look, we are all getting older and not everyone can sustain the manic energy of Karl Hyde, but man.... sometimes I feel like they set a metronome in 2005 and everything has revolved round that same, slower bpm ever since. Some driving beats, a driving melody, some sort of urgency would be awesome. Could have helped for this song too.

Solid mid-packer for me - not as great as the in-your faceness of Wrong or the lovely melody of Precious, but better than Heaven.

It will be interesting to see how the Russian fans pick this up, or if it is organically incorporated into the live shows by the Devoted into something bigger.

---

I've avoided so far to listen to WTR and it was a lot of fun reading all your reactions, little reviews. Thank you all, folks! But now i surrender... And after only one listen, i like it. I agree it's not really groundbreaking stuff except perhaps the part with the train. It's just great, imho! I think it saves the song from being average. This bridge/middle 8 (call it as you want i'm not a specialist) gave me goosebumps. It brings some needed fresh air.

---

Definitely, it's a grower.

It's a blues, but the soundscape is sci fi, specially in the second verse (the blade runner synth). The production is fantastic, even when some ideas are recycled (yes, sweetest perfection, sweetest condition and corrupt; or even the electronic blues idea that surrounded Delta machine)

The chorus are very catchy.

And the middle 8 is very good.

The fans? we are divided.... as happened with every first single as far as i remember (personal jesus, i feel you, barrel of a gun, dream on, precious, wrong or heaven)

---

Radio edit: http://www.m80radio.com/2017/aqui-esta-la-revolucion-depeche-mode-30399.html - thanks to depe @ depmod.

It's actually just not an edit as the background doesn't get silent on the first "Where's the revolution", it sounds much better on the album version. Shame about the radio host talking all over the intro and even when Dave starts singing, let's hope for a clean version soon.

---

That was a clunky and awkward transition from the first verse to the chorus. I thought I disliked the album version of the Train is Coming part but it was worse on the shortened radio version. Definitely provides a better flow to the song with it repeated x2.

---

 Listening to new Depeche Mode material is a pleasure I know I'll be able to experience for only a few more times. To me this is something special and I'm going to enjoy every single drop of it. I like to get cerebral, but I'm not giving my brain any chance to think about it. I like to remember what Martin said "Let me take you on a trip..." and I'm just going to do that.

I took my headphones and I sit in a quiet enviroment. I pushed play, put it on a loop and let myself get lost in the song. The first listen was weird. The snippet did spoil it, but by the second time it didn't matter. It clicked fast. I smiled, I cried (tears of joy), I moved my feet like some stroboscopic light... By the 20th time I was singing along... It was actually a good high.

I think this is classic Mode. It's true that it might not be the classic Mode some would expect, but that's what happens with the best kind of drugs.

Hey! And it's spoiler free.

---

DM never fail to surprise me. The initial single from a given project usually never wins me over on a first listen, as it's never what I'm expecting, which I think is a massive strength. I think however far they tried to get away from their sound, it'll always sound like their classic blend which is something to be very proud of.

I'm loving the new song, it'd won me over by it's third listen. The 'train is coming' section started off as annoying, thinking why have they repeated it so many times, then you realise you're singing along in your head. The main verses have that sinister Corrupt-esque type of delivery as mentioned which is also quite catchy. You then have the Revolution hook. They've effortlessly created a classic here.

I think this song, with it's message, will recieve alot of airplay over the next couple of years.

With the political state of the world at the moment, terror and fear so rife, people around the world are scared and want change. Sometimes radical steps backwards will help bring that about and I imagine this song will be the overture to alot of events on the news and factual documentaries

I got way too deep for 9:00 on a Sunday morning then!!! Sorry....as a punishment I will go and play the Fairly Odd mix of the Meaning Of Love 5 times in a row!!.

---

 My favourite part is the verse, its some dark and reminds me of the verse of Alone.

---

I don't think it's classic at all.

At first I thought it's mainly Martin's writing nowadays why I'm not too fond of it. But now I'm thinking it has more to do with the production.

Take a classic like Policy Of Truth for instance. One of my all time DM favourites. If Martin would have written it today it would have been:

- 20 bpm slower
- the big beat would have been replaced by thin electronic drum sounds
- Dave would not have sung it in a normal fashion, but like this: "Now you're standing there tongue tieeeeeeeeeed, You'd better learn your lesson weeeeeeeeeell"
- the fantastic guitar/synth riff would be gone. DM doesn't do melodies anymore
- the great ending, one of their best ever IMHO, would have been replaced by some noises and bleeps

It would not half be the song it is now.

On the other hand, imigane what the DM of 25 years ago could have done with WTR (bigger beats, layers and melodies).  :cry:

---

 Definitely a grower, it's a brilliant tune, every play gets better and better !

---

I have a slightly different take on the lyrics, especially considering the quote from Dave that "Martin wrote it in a very sarcastic, English way" from the recent 'Rolling Stone' interview.

Rather than calling for a revolution of some kind, I think Martin is suggesting that with recent events like Brexit, or with people in America jumping on the Trump bandwagon somehow THINKING they are starting a revolution, Martin is basically asking "Okay, so where's the revolution, people" as nothing appears to changing or happening despite these decisions.

"Come on people, you're letting me down" is perhaps intended to be quite mocking and sarcastic, questioning these "patriotic junkies" and suggesting there's no revolution despite their intentions.

---

 I really like it. Best song by Depeche Mode since Precious. I'm happy.

---

I'm kinda torn on this song. 

On one hand it starts of really well but daves vocals seem a bit jarring in the mix.  Occasionally unable to hold a note.  Now don't get me wrong this could well be intentional, but it sounds poor to me.  The Chorus is too distorted imo.  Very Delta Machine.  Some people might say thats not a bad thing, but it really is. 

Then we have our Thomas the Tank engine section.  Choo Choo... It's like they've bolted together 2 sections of two totally different songs.

And yet.... And yet.... it kinda works.  It's possibly the bizarrist depeche single I can ever remember.  It doesn't make any sense on first listen.  It's jaring in the extreme, making you wish the soundscape of the first few seconds had followed right through the track.

Maybe that's the point.  In a time when society in general lacks cohesion.

---

Where's the Revolution makes me think that Bo Diddley is more important than Kraftwerk for Martin.

I really like this song.

---

Ok after a long weekend of listening I rate it a B- for a first single (better than Heaven but nowhere near Wrong or Precious).

+ Powerful chorus (although I wish they hadn't given it away already at the press event), nice middle 8, interesting theme, decent sound, in fact drums don't bother me much.

But:

- Dave has sounded much better before (enough with the drawn-out, whiny vowels, I wish he had taken this down a key, could have made it more menacing..). The lyrics are also much too literal, if it was more multilayered and inspired it could have been a real statement (in fact I would have thought DG wrote this).

Still excited for the album. Heaven was not in my top 5 on Delta Machine so bring on Spirit.

--------------------------------

Innen gyűjtöttem: http://www.depeche-mode.com/forum/index.php?topic=31362.0

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr1912190934

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása