Depeche Mode összes

Depeche Mode összes

A HOME Fórumosok első benyomásai a Where's The Revolution-ról - első rész

2017. február 07. - Szigi.

Well i love it already...not a grower like heaven for me

---

"You've been pissed on for too long"

so we got profanity again?!! cool!!!

---

"the train is coming"

obvious reference to concentration camps taking people away.

---

Interesting track - I like the part with the "The Train is Coming". I am optimistic for the album.

---

I must say I fucking love it, not a grower like Heaven definitely.

---

Love the soundscape!

---

Love it!

---

Like it !!!!!!!!!

---

First impression is good production but a weak song, it doesn't really lift  :/

Very nice ending to it though.

---

Sweet...gonna be on repeat all day tomorrow. Now I can sleep in peace.

---

Like it!!!

---

BTW, I'm loving it has proper layered riffs (though the 2nd verse could have grown more, like BTW and Wrong, for example, but of course I need a proper listen)

---

Wow hooked on first listen, that chorus is god damn powerful...Bravo Depeche Mode and James Ford! Bravo!

---

This  is a Dave Gahan song, right?

---

A proper middle 8 guys, a proper middle 8!!  :D That's all I can say right now, got to listen again.  :D

Just saw the lyrics are posted below the video, great! Lovely animation of the album cover too.

---

Wow Dave's voice sounds fabulous

---

Sounds like a strong song! I initially like it.

---

Need to listen properly tomorrow but it's okay, not a classic but solid enough. At first listen a better first single than Heaven that's for sure.

---

I think I like it :)

But isn't it slightly long for radio?

---

"Who's making your decisions, you or your religion" verse is very reminiscent of the vocal delivery in Corrupt

---

First impressions. It's nothing like I expected, it's reminiscent of some later DM stuff but much crisper and better produced. The reverb on Dave's voice during the verses is lovely, the chorus we already know but the misstep when it comes in works well. The guitars on the second verse and chorus are Wilder era like. That middle 8, a proper hypnotic bridge for once and a real departure from the rest of the song. Lyrically it's more direct than I thought it would be, quite like the wonderful Wrong, in that sense.

It's certainly bolder and more in your face than Heaven, also it's nothing like the typical big DM singles of either pop ballad or bluesey guitar stomper format.
---
Second previous comment that production is very nice and bright and sleek, but the song is meh. Delivery of the verses is too stretched out... lyrics might have worked better delivered faster (like Barrel of a Gun). The"chorus" is typical of DM for the past few albums, as it's more of a refrain than full-bodied. Something catchy like Precious or It's No Good or Policy of Truth, this is not.
---
Musically they've done this before. A change of writing style and  middle 8, very nice. I approve. 8/10
---
some vocal lines in the verses remind me a bit too much of "corrupt".
---
I like the verses very much, the chorus we all know sounds a bit bolted on for first listen, and there's a strange resemblance to bits of The Sweetest Perfection. It blows Heaven out of the water for sure!!
---
I get the feeling it´s a Martin penned track.
---
A bit like a beefed up b-side :/
---
Is it me, or do the verses sound like Corrupt?
That train is coming part is AMAZING
---
Same here, a great sound but the song not nearly as powerful as I was expecting. But if the rest of the album is this quality we should all be happy.
---
Was nice to be able to wait for the first play on Polish radio. Hm, kind of an okay song for me, not too sure if the chorus isn't a bit overblown. Interesting sounds + good production (from first listening). The verses are a bit too long for me. Not too keen on the 4x repeating of each line in the 'The train is coming...' part. The ending is well done, though.
Hm, not disappoiting, but for me, although multiple times better than Heaven not single material.  Surely not a 'musical revolution'.
---
It is a pretty hypnotic track, methinks.
---
Sounds good, not a stretch from the Delta Machine sound.  Bought the itunes single, will give it a listen on my better car stereo on the ride home versus these crappy computer speakers.
---
Yes I definitely hear Corrupt in the verses.

Nice clear production, Ford is great. I like the "train is coming" part.

Other than that, I think it's an okay song. The good production is giving me hopes for the rest of the album though.
---
I don't know what to say. I mean, great production, good vocals, but the song itself is... meh. Is not a great chorus I think. I need to listen to it more times.
---
Seriously disappointing.
Awful verses, vocal melody that sounds like they've been lifted  from Corrupt.
plodding and unfinished .
---
I like it. The production and the end part of the song is really good. Looking forward to the album a bit now.
---
im not sure about it... i find the lyrics and chorus a bit cringey, love the train is coming bit though!
---
After 5 listens I just love it.... powerful, crispy and Daves voice is awesome. This kicks the ..... out of Heaven:-)

Totally goosebumps...thx DM for this:-))))))
---
For me, the verses are the strongest part(s) of the song. Really like it. Already listened to it like 9 times.
---
Two verses, gotta be Gore
---
Agreed with the 4x repeating of those lines. 2x would have been perfect. Nice song. Didn't set me on fire but gives me hope for the album.
---
Well i am genuinly happy with it
---
Very impressed on first couple of listens. Now to listen properly on my hifi and not my phone so I can give a decent verdict
---
Uuh, does the chorus need that drawn out generic 80's synth sound?

I prefer All of this and Nothing over this actually.. oh well.

Very Kaleid:ish guitars, especially at the end. That's nice.
---
Strong chorus.

Weak verse, runs the risk of being the usual bluesy, approximate wandering about. I refuse to think they have lost the capability to write a full winning song.

Train is coming part a bit disconcerting first time around, but on second listen it does fit in like an interesting suspension that rises towards the glorious end.

Another blues effort but well masked electronically, thankfully guitar not in too much evidence otherwise it would be another PJ, SMS, etc.

If it turns out to be the weakest song, the album will be a cracker.
---
I like it, new writing style is what I like,  about time love, loss, guilt and a being a bit handsy was left alone.  Musically, they've done what they've done before but how many times can you reinvent electro blues. Music 7/10 New lyric focus 8/10
---
Pffft...just what I kind of feared. It's a killer chorus, and they know it. But the rest just feels like filler - verses don't have any real drive, and that bridge is horrible. Damn.
---
Really like it. Like many have mentioned the sound and production are very good. Love the train is coming bit and refreshing to not hear souls on fire etc etc . For me better than most if the last couple of albums . Really looking forward to the album now
---
OK on 10th listen. This is the best DM track since pre PTA. Absolutely perfect - not sure what a middle 8 is - I just listen. The train part (I guess the middle 8?) is fantastic.

The reason I have loved DM since 1981 is they are different to anyone else. This is different to anyone else.
---
Yeah, listened a few more times. Without the production wouldn't be much at all memorable. But Ford's work also gives me hope for the rest of the album. Combined with some truly memorable songs, we could have something great.
---
It's getting better and better with every listen, cool deep bass, heavier drums (thank god) strong trac
---
I guess we know what will be the song where Dave entices the crowd for a sing-a-long (like Peace and SBH)
---
Well at least it has a middle 8.  Outside of that there's not much of a melody or memorable tune.  The production seems bland and safe.  I see no real difference sound-wise from SOTU or Delta Machine.  I'd think it was produced by Ben Hillier if I didn't know otherwise.

I'm sure there'll be at least 1-2 songs I enjoy on the album, so ultimately looking forward to that.
---
Oh yeah right, Corrupt. That' s what the verse reminded me of.

Apart from that (Dave, PLEASE STOP singing in that raucous voice and get back to the baritonal crispness and cleanness of yore) it' s not a bad song at all though.
---
First impression after a few listens..... nice electronic intro, nice atmosphere, ok chorus...... good vibe all round, excellent production. Then the cringy "train is coming - get on board" part, spoils an otherwise decent effort.

Don't like the political theme at all. Leave that to U2.

And just to clarify for all the moaners who moan about the moaners....this is called feedback folks, not moaning. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.
---
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YESSSSSSSSSSSSS
---
The song is... fine at the moment. A bit DM by the numbers, but I guess that was necessary after heaven
---
I like it.
The "train is coming"-part is a bit weird but that's what Depeche Mode is supposed to be.
Makes them sound like Depeche...different to everything else.
---
Good song , Great production !
---
As for the Corrupt comments - Revolution its a much better song, imo.
---
First impression is that I quite like it. The only remark I have is that the chorus is very strong while the verses are lyrically strong, but musically lack a bit of power (or even some anger). Same for the middle 8 , maybe one time would have been sufficient to keep the track going.
But overall pleased with their effort and the production of Ford.
---
Sometimes things get a bit too busy... during the train is coming I see no need for Mart's vocals in the background. Should've saved the chorus for the chorus.

Or when they want people to get onboard that train it doesn't quite work when it is asked where is the revolution at the same time, the words should instead encourage said revolution.

As someone said the production is pretty much the same as the last two albums, which is not necessarily a bad thing but unlike Barrel of a Gun, Dream on and Wrong it feels like it isn't that new really.
---
Rolling stone article confirms it's a Gore penned track.
---
Corrupt did nothing for me, this is much stronger.
---
It does sound similar to Corrupt though, which for me was one of the very few songs I could hear from SOTU.
---
Not sure of the references to Corrupt - wasn't that keen on that song... this is very well produced - much better than the last 8 years INHO
---
I hear the similarities, but Revolution is much stronger imo, and with a better soundscape also.
---
After I streamed Where's the Revolution on VK.com the next track on my playlist was Kraftwerk's The Hall of Mirrors and it contains very few sounds, and it works perfectly fine as it is. Sometimes simplicity really is the best..
---
Corrupt did very little for me as well. Like the whole album it belongs to...
---
Fucking LOVE it!

And more so with every listen... which is a good sign
---
I was never a big fan of Corrupt (and Goodbye, while we're on the album closers subject), but Revolution definitely stands out.
---
Listened to it a few times now.
It's ok, growing on me after a few listens.
Like the verses. They certainly grow on you.
Sounds well produced. Hope for the album.
---
corrupt 2.0 with better chorus... its not a weak single but not the strongest also.
 deep in my heart I was expecting something more, but I taking it anyway.

for me is a 7/10
---
Gotta say it again, but I expected a new producer to quite heavily change the sound but that didn't really happen, at least not on this.
---
I agree.

It is getting better at every listen, but at the same time it' s bluesy structure is increasingly clearer (it took me six/seven listens). So, not really something new.
With this new record it was the time to speed things up a bit again (I am not saying ETS, but Precious yes). Let' s hope for the rest of the album.

And referncing Corrput, consciusly or not, is NOT good. They should go forwards, not backwards.
---
I have to say that the snippets from the press conference didn't raise my expectations so high. I wasn't expecting a great album & revolution's chorus snippet made me like it the least among the other two songs. I was even a bit disappointed to know that it was the first single. The album cover initially added to my disappointment As it's basic & a bit boring. Now I've just only listened to" Where's the revolution?" Once & I have to say I'm quite impressed. I wasn't that keen on political lyrics but after listening to the song, I just love the lyrics. It's fitting to all the political events happening today & that reminds me of their political theme early on, Blue dress, People are people, Master & servant etc. Dave's voice keeps getting better each day & his vocals still send chills down my spine. I love the production, the baseline & pretty much every single sound element & that's just from one listen. By the time I got to the bridge, there was a smile on my face & I knew I was captured once again.  The album cover is even growing on me & that first single made me feel so positive. I can't wait till the album is released in March. Well done Depeche Mode! " You're not letting me down!!"
---
Must admit it really is getting better the more I listen to it.
Didn't like 'the train is coming 'bit but even that sounds good now. Love martins' where's the revolution' bit in the background.
---
Throwing my two cents in, I really like it.  The song sounds much different to how I thought it would and I love the middle 8 train is coming.
---
On first listen I like it but don't love it.  I will reserve further judgement until I have had a chance to listen to higher quality than YouTube on cellphone.

I'm very happy though about the new music.  Really need this right now.  Yet again music will make it all better.
-----

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://depechemode.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr4512182992

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása